PocketEd - Courses

BIOL C100 - INTRO TO BIOLOGY
- 3.0 Credit Hours
Satisfies Group "B" Natural Science Degree Requirement. 
Biology for non-science majors.A general study of the basic concepts of biology including the human body and the environment.  Emphasis on the characteristics of plant and animal life, human body systems, health, genetics, and the interaction of organisms in their environment. 
Instructor: Randall Warwick, rwarwick@coastline.edu
 
 
BUS C120 – PERSONAL FINANCE
- 3.0 Credit Hours
Satisfies Elective Degree Requirement
The goal of Personal Financial Planning is to teach students the fundamentals of financial planning as well as develop an understanding of the social, psychological, and physiological contexts which influence decision making. Personal Financial Planning provides comprehensive coverage of the role of money in student's lives and provides financial planning tools enabling students to identify and evaluate choices that lead to long-term financial security and develop an understanding of their connection with money and the consequences of their decisions.Instructor:
Theodore Ondracek tondracek@coastline.edu
 

MCOM C100 - INTRO TO MASS COMMUNICATIONS
- 3.0 Credit Hours
Satisfies Group "A1" Speech Communications Degree Requirement or Group "D"degree requirement.
May not be used to satisfy more than 1 degree requirement.
A study and analysis of the major media--newspapers, magazines, radio and television--covering how they function and affect society.
Instructor: Mike Carlucci, mcarlucci@coastline.edu
 

GEOL C105 - GENERAL GEOLOGY
- 3.0 Credit Hours
Satisfies Group "B" Natural Science Degree Requirement.
A study of the composition and structure of the earth and the internal and external processes which modify the crust and the surface.Rock and mineral formation, geologic hazards, resource discovery, and uses will be covered. A non-laboratory science class. 
Instructor: Kelly Ruppert kruppert@coastline.edu


HIST C170 - U.S. HISTORY TO 1876
- 3.0 Credit Hours
Satisfies Group "D" Social Science Degree Requirement.
A comprehensive examination of history of the United States from the beginnings of exploration to the end of the Civil War and Reconstruction. It will cover the political, economic, diplomatic, social and cultural aspects of American life.
Instructor: Dan Johnson, djohnson@coastline.edu


HIST C180 - WESTERN CIVILIZATION 1
- 3.0 Credit Hours
Satisfies Group "D" Social Science Global Degree Requirement.
A study of the development of present day Western culture from the earliest beginnings to 1550; emphasis on the impact of philosophical, social and economic factors on Western Civilization.
Instructor: Todd Menzing, tmenzing@coastline.edu


HUM C135 - HISTORY & APPRECIATION OF THE CINEMA  
- 3.0 Credit Hours
Satisfies Group "C" Arts & Humanities Degree Requirement.
Historical development of film in America as an art form and as a business. Viewing and analysis of some landmark films.
Instructor: Adrian Windsor, awindsor@coastline.edu 

 
PSYC C100 - INTRO TO PSYCHOLOGY 
- 3.0 Credit Hours 
Satisfies Group "D" Social Science Degree Requirement. 
Fundamentals of human psychology. Using a scientific approach to the study of human behavior, this course examines and integrates physiological, intrapsychic and social/behavioral perspectives on human thought and behavior. Major units include biological bases of behavior, sensation, perception, motivation, learning and memory, maturation and development, personality, and social psychology.
Instructor: Ted Barnes, tbarnes@coastline.edu


SOC C100 – INTRO TO SOCIOLOGY
- 3.0 Credit Hours
Satisfies Group "D" Social Science Degree Requirement.
Introduction to the scientific study of human society and social behavior. Analyzes social interrelationships and human group organization, culture, social differentiation and social institutions. 
Instructor: Mary Ann Go, mgo@coastline.edu